For a 1,000 years two grape varieties have been grown in a region about three hours south of Paris. Two words have been consistently been used in describing the Burgundy wine growing region: terroir and climat.

The term terroir, in simple terms, refers to the natural elements of the region (geography, geological and climatic). While this is true for all wine growing areas, these combined with individual talents for utilizing plot specific (climats), growing grapes and wine making practices create unique bottles of Burgundy Pinot Noir and Chardonnay wines.

Burgundy is divided into five appellations: 1) Chablis and the grand Auxerrois; 2) Macônnais (Macon, largest village); 3) Côte Chalonnaise (Chalon Sur Saone, largest village); 4) Côte de Beaune and hautes côtes de Beaune (Beaune, largest village); 5) Côtes de Nuits and Hautes Côtes de Nuits (Nuits St George, largest village).

This blog will initially concentrate on the most northerly appellations: Côte de Beaune and Côte de Nuits.

The village of Santenay is at the southern end of the Côte de Beaune. Besides wine making, the town boasts a 12th century church and a hydrothermal and health resort since 1968.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s